And so it begins…

28 Dec

One night, I was in Borders.

I was there looking for a CD. Well, sort of. I mean, that was my general purpose of being in Borders. But any purpose became void as soon as I entered and started browsing the entire store. This tends to happen when I go to Borders. Like the ridiculous geek that I am, I started to look over every single album and movie on the shelves, playing the “I wonder if they have this” game (my favorite!), and noting particular titles that I wanted to see or listen to. After a little while, I started to get bored and I turned to the attention to the books. To my surprise, I actually found several books that I wanted to read. All of the books, movies, and albums formed a flock of seagulls that flew in circles around my mind as I left the store, and they didn’t stop pecking at me until I went to bed later that night.

When I woke up the next morning, I started thinking about them all over again. I thought to myself: maybe I should write this down. I got the idea to write a few lists of all of the movies, albums, and books that I wanted to consume. Then I got the idea to try and tackle all of them in the New Year. Then I got the idea to write a blog about it. So now I’m writing a blog about it.

These three lists have been compiled from critics’ “best-of” lists, friends’ recommendations, things that are relevant to my interests, and titles that popped into my head as I was typing. Why not? The lists will certainly warrant a Netflix subscription, some sort of pay-per-month music service, and various trips to the library and the bookstore, which I may or may not be able to afford. Maybe I can borrow some things from my friends…

Anyway, here, in no order, are those lists:

Movies

Albums

Books

Well, then. Let’s get started!

Next time, I will kick off the year by obtaining, watching, and reviewing “The Usual Suspects.”

One Response to “And so it begins…”

  1. luci January 18, 2010 at 5:24 PM #

    *Ja!* to The Perks of being a Wallflower, Contra, It’s Blitz! and In Bruges! So so good.

    *Nein* to Sainthood (you’ll be disappointed if you’ve heard any of their old stuff), Elephant and Oracular Spectacular. overrated.

    If you haven’t seen it yet, put Chungking Express on your list. And The Edukators.

    I think I’m going to comment on every single post of yours. that’s how much I love this list.

Leave a Reply

